All Oklahoma businesses are required to carry workers’ comp, which covers reimbursement for medical care and lost wages when an employee sustains a work-related injury or illness.
Oklahoma workers’ comp follows the “no-fault” policy, meaning injured workers can receive coverage no matter who is at fault.
Keep reading to learn all about Oklahoma workers’ compensation laws.
Workers’ comp is required for just about every Oklahoma business with full-time or part-time employees, as outlined in the Oklahoma Administrative Workers’ Compensation Act.
But there are exceptions. These types of workers don’t need to be covered:
Under Oklahoma state law, injured workers are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, which cover medical expenses, lost wages, and more.
Specifically, workers’ comp insurance covers:
*Disability benefits vary based on the extent of the employee’s injury or illness:
In 2023, workers’ comp pays 70% of an employee’s average weekly wage, up to a maximum of $986.86 per week in Oklahoma.
The maximum amount changes every year, but you can find the most up-to-date information on ok.gov.
The state of Oklahoma imposes penalties for employers who fail to carry workers’ comp. These include:
You can avoid these penalties by purchasing coverage from an insurance company.
If an employee dies due to a workplace injury or illness, their dependents are entitled to death benefits, but these vary depending on who survives the employee:
The workers’ compensation system also covers funeral expenses of up to $10,000.
The cost of workers’ comp varies depending on things like:
Private insurance companies set their own comp rates, so you may want to get quotes from several carriers before making a decision.
If you’re looking to save on workers’ comp, consider using Hourly. We partner with insurance agents and small businesses to lower the cost of coverage and help you skip hefty audit fees.
To file a comp claim, the injured employee or their employer will need to fill out Form 3 “Employee’s First Notice of Accidental Injury and Claim for Compensation” and send it to the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court of Existing Claims.
An employee must notify their employer within 30 days and file a claim within two years of the date of injury, or the first sign of symptoms.
Workers’ comp payments generally begin seven calendar days after the injury. The employee won’t receive benefits for those seven days unless the court finds that they’re unable to work for more than 21 days.
The easiest way to purchase workers’ comp in Oklahoma is through a private insurance company. If you own a high-risk business, you can buy insurance coverage through CompSource Oklahoma.
You may also be able to self-insure your business, meaning you’ll pay any workers’ comp expenses and benefits out of pocket, rather than through an insurance carrier. You can apply to be self-insured through the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Commission.
In Oklahoma, workers’ comp covers just about any work-related injuries or illnesses. However, there are exceptions. Injuries are not covered if they occur:
From Tulsa to Oklahoma City, Hourly helps business owners make workers’ compensation coverage easier and more affordable.
We calculate your payments in real-time based on actual payroll, not estimated payroll, and we help you avoid audit fees and high upfront premiums.
Talk to your insurance carrier to see how you can get started with Hourly.
Get the latest news from Hourly and helpful tips to run your business